Nihon Ryouri ( Authentic Japanese Restaurant Makino in Egypt)

real Japanese food !
If you can’t afford traveling to Japan at the moment, make sure to treat yourself to one of the world’s most famous cuisines.
There is a wide variety of restaurants in Egypt that serve sushi and some Japanese food, however, Makino, is a truly authentic Japanese restaurant run by Japanese staff and chefs as well as a few Egyptians. They are located inside the Hilton Hotel on Mohamed Mazhar street. I made a reservation and once I arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly hostess who lead me to my table. The interior is simple, yet sophisticated with natural lights and an outdoor seating place which would definitely suit one of those summer nights. Once I entered, I felt like time has slowed down as the place is quiet with calming music in the background. I wished there would be more cultural aspects through paintings or decorations or even a small Japanese garden outdoors to make the place even more surreal. The hostess immediately brought me cold towels which was a kind gesture in such a hot weather. The menu has so much to offer, it includes sushi, sashimi, noodles, grilled dishes and so many other Japanese dishes. They also write on a notice board their daily specials and also offer a set menu where you can order a full meal. I ordered the full meal set (200 l.e) which included appetizers prepared by the chef in an open kitchen in front of you. It included spinaches in sesame sauce, deep fried sardines with Japanese vegetables and tuna sashimi with the chef’s special sauce. I think if Gordon Ramsey tasted those appetizers he would have definitely said it was made with so much finesse. The tuna literally melts in your mouth and there is so much flavor in the vegetables. Don’t expect any westernized versions of Japanese cuisine where they add cream cheese and mayonnaise on top of fish. Just imagine yourself in a Japanese village tasting their authentic food made with love and attention to every single detail. Next, I had miso soup, which was basically a piece out of heaven. I felt like the flavors are exploding in my mouth and the spring onions gave it a good lift in the palate. Then, there was the Shibaebe Kakiage which is a mix of tempura shrimps and onions fried till golden crisp perfection accompanied by a light sweet sauce.
It is worth mentioning that Makino is among a few places in Cairo that serve Sake which is a kind of Japanese alcohol made out of fermented rice. After that, the hostess who was dressed in a beautiful kimono, served me the main dish which consisted of a beautiful assortment of sushi as well as Kitsuna noodles. The sushi presentation was marvelous and made me truly feel like I am already in Japan. It consisted of California rolls, and other fish sushi . The most delicious one was the tuna sushi. The fish was so fresh and tasty. I was so full at this point, but I tried the noodles. The noodles itself is made out of green tea and the broth is made out of vegetables. It also includes fried tofu and some sea weed leaves. I didn’t like it so much as it lacked flavor unlike the miso soup. But, I was so contempt due to the excellent sushi. For desert, I had matcha green tea ice cream as well as sesame seeds ice cream. They were served in little portions, but were surreal and full of flavor. The matcha green tea ice cream certainly complemented the entire meal set .

IMG_4035IMG_4037

IMG_4038IMG_4041IMG_4039IMG_4040IMG_4044IMG_4043

Leave a Reply

